Courtney Lee’s Blog

My random thoughts, ideas, and things that I like to talk about…there is a lot! You have been warned!

Blood…Orange! January 7, 2009

Filed under: learning,Personal — Courtney Blackstock @ 3:14 PM
Tags:

Alright so when my mom and I went shopping for grocery’s on Sunday I saw Blood Oranges in the aisle with like ten other kinds of oranges there too. I said “oh hey mom we should try these, remember they were in that book we read” she replied with “yea if you want to try them get a few, they are a couple cents cheaper than these ones, that’s for sure”. I smiled at my mom, she loves to try new things just like me, and even when her “little girl” is 19, almost 20 she still loves to feed her curiosity.

Anyways back to the oranges, I have wanted to try them for a while but I couldn’t seem to find them, and I knew what I was looking for so it’s not like I was clueless in the matter. When I found the oranges they looked way different than what I was looking for! I was looking for oranges with a redish colour on the skin, and these ones are just orange. So today at around 2:30 I was in the mood for a snack, I choose an apple from the fruit bowl, and then looked at the blood oranges and said “why not”! I took some pictures of them!

The four Little Oranges

The four Little Oranges

To prove that it is what I said!

To prove that it is what I said!

The normal orange, and the blood orange. Just a tiny size difference.

The normal orange, and the blood orange. Just a tiny size difference.

Is the colour not just amazing!?

Is the colour not just amazing!?

It looks like a star! So pretty!

It looks like a star! So pretty!

So I am sorry to disappoint all of you who hoped it tasted like something weird, but it tastes like an orange, and is not as sweet as other oranges. I think if you go to eat or buy oranges then you should get some of these! Put them into drinks, into a salad, or just eat them as they are! Your friends and family will want to know what it is for sure!

 

3 Responses to “Blood…Orange!”

  1. So glad you’re continuing to write. I love the photos. You have a gift. Keep it up.

  2. amerrit Says:

    Just curious, what book were they in? I love anything to do with books lol and need a new one to read, if the book was any good then that could just be a possibility. My mom gets these oranges every once in a while but I have to admit I’ve never had the guts to try them the color freaks me out to much.

  3. Courtney Blackstock Says:

    To Dean – Thanks I love taking photos, I want to buy a new camera, and I also just love to have something to tell these things too. Even if nobody reads half of my posts I get it out.

    To Amerrit – It was a cook book, I don’t remember which one it was I have a big collection of cook books haha but you should try them, they are really good, they taste just like oranges no suprise there ha. Try one!


Leave a comment